The Department of College Education was set up in 1958 for the administration and development of higher education in the State of Rajasthan. However, there were only 40 Colleges (24 Government, 13 Aided and 3 Unaided) then and the department is now managing 252 Government Colleges, 1577 Unaided Private Colleges and 904 BEd colleges (including 5 Government BEd Colleges). The administration is headed by the Commissioner, College Education, Government of Rajasthan, Jaipur.

A significant role is being played by the department in bringing about quantitative and qualitative improvement in the higher education in the State.

Important Activities are:

The budget distribution and expenditure in Government Colleges is under the purview of Commissionerate. The placement of teaching faculty and non-teaching staff in Government Colleges, their service matters and academic control are dealt herein.

The Commissionerate is also the State Project Directorate (SPD) that helps the Government Colleges and State Universities in obtaining grants from Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) under Rashtriya Uchhatar Shiksha Abhiyaan (RUSA). Commissionerate aids in implementing Youth development programmes like NSS,YDC, Rover-Rangering, NCC etc.

Colleges under Commissionerate of College Education in Rajasthan


Government Colleges


Private College

1577 (As on 1.12.2018)

BEd Colleges


Organizational Structure

The Department of Higher Education is being administered at Secretariat level by Principal Secretary/Secretary, Joint Secretary.

The Commissionerate of College Education is headed by Commissioner (IAS). He is also the State Project Director for RUSA scheme of Government of India. There is one Additional Commissioner (RAS), one Financial Advisor (RAcS), one DLR, five Joint Directors (PG Principals), 3 Deputy Directors and 11 Assistant Directors. There are six zonal offices situated at Ajmer, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Bikaner, Kota and Jaipur. 

The sections at the Commissionerate are as follows:

A. HRD Section

There are approximately 4500 teaching staff consisting of Principal, Vice-Principal, Assistant/Associate Professors, Librarians and PTIs.

This section deals with following issues of teaching staff:

B. Planning & Coordination Section

This section undertakes planning and coordination with the State Government and monitors the functioning of Government colleges. It also coordinates for the budget and expenditure of Government colleges.

 The important functions of the section are as follows:


C. Academic Section

This Section deals with the following matters:


D. Legal Section

This Section maintains record of all legal cases filed in the Supreme Court, High Courts, Civil Court, District Courts, Session courts or tribunals. Court-wise details, OIC-wise details, decisions and contempt cases etc. are maintained in this section. LITES software of Department of Justice is also being updated and monitored by the section.

E. Accounts Section

The major function is related to allocation and monitoring of budget to the Government Colleges and related offices of the Department.

This Section deals with the following matters:

F. Administration Section

This section deals with Posting, Transfer, DPC, Screening, Seniority, Departmental Enquiries and other related matters of Non-teaching staff of the department.

G. Private Institutions Section

This section deals mainly with issues of Private colleges:

State Project Directorate (Rashtriya Uchchattar Shiksha Abhiyan)

 Rashtriya Uchchattar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) is a flagship scheme, centrally sponsored by MHRD, Government of India (GOI), to be operated in mission mode. It seeks to improve the overall quality of existing State higher educational institutions. The allocation of grant under RUSA (60:40::Centre:State) is based on well-defined norms & parameters, linked to academic, administrative and governance reforms and on a challenge mode.

For successful implementation of Rashtriya Uchchattar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA), State Project Directorate has been established. The Commissioner, College Education Rajasthan is the State Project Director. A team of a Joint Director, a Deputy Project Director and six Assistant Project Directors is there to assist.

This office prepares proposals for the grant under RUSA scheme and gets the approval from Proposal Approval Board (PAB) of MHRD, disburse the grants and monitor the utilization of it by beneficiary institutes (Government Colleges, State Universities of Higher Technical and Sanskrit Department).

As NAAC grade has been one of the basic qualifications for receiving RUSA grant, State Level Quality Assurance Cell (SLQAC) was formed for planning, preparing and monitoring the colleges to be assessed and accredited by NAAC.