With a view to providing better facilities of higher education in the State, to fulfill the long standing demand of the people for the establishment of university at Bharatpur and to comply with the announcement made by the Hon'ble Chief Minister in the budget session 2012-13, Maharaja Surajmal Brij University, Bharatpur was established at Bharatpur.

The Maharaja Surajmal Brij University, Bharatpur Ordinance, 2012 (Ordinance No. 6 of 2012), was promulgated on 23rd August 2012, which was published in Rajasthan Gazette, Part IV (B), Extraordinary, dated 24th August, 2012. On 10 October 2012 the Maharaja Surajmal Brij University bill, 2012  was introduced in the Vidhan Sabha which was discussed and passed by the Vidhan Sabha on 11 October 2012 and received the accent of the Governor on 14 October 2012.

Looking to the historical background of Maharaja Surajmal, the erstwhile ruler of Bharatpur State and to keep his memory immortal, the name of the Brij University, Bharatpur was changed  to Maharaja Surajmal Brij University, Bharatpur vide  Brij University, Bharatpur (Change of Name) Act, 2014.

Mission & Vision

The University shall be deemed to have been established and incorporated for the purpose, among others, of - 

(i) making provision for imparting education in different branches of learning and 

(ii) furthering the prosecution of research in all branches of learning.

Board of Studies

The notification by Government u/s 4 of the Maharaja Surajmal University is awaited. However, the board of studies would be constituted in following manner.

1.   There shall be such number of Boards of Studies as may be determined by the Statutes.

2.   A Board of Studies shall be constituted in the manner, consist of such members, exercise such powers and perform such functions as may be prescribed.